Short North Night Out

July 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

Yesterday, I ran 5 miles for the first time ever!

To celebrate, Tiffany and I got dressed up and headed to the Short North for a drink. We planned on going to Surly Girl, but instead we decided to hit up Mouton. I’m so glad we did, because it’s on my bucket list, and time is seriously dwindling!

Mouton is a fabulous little bar with a relaxed and classy vibe. They specialize in old fashioned cocktails, but they do have beer and wine offerings as well. It’s not your typical bar, it’s more of a quiet place to have a drink and some conversation. No loud music or sweaty gyrating frat boys here.

In other words, I loved it!

We both got champagne cocktails, and they were perfect!

Mouton 006

The champagne was accompanied by angostura bitters and a sugar cube. I love that the drinks were served in these old school champagne coupes.

Mouton 007

After that first cocktail, Tiffy and I had champagne on the brain. Since we were in the Short North, I knew just where we should go for our next drink… Hubbard’s!

Last time I went, I ordered a glass of champagne, but to my surprise it came in a can with a sippy straw. It’s from the Sofia Coppola vineyards, and it’s actually really  great! Definitely something you should try if you like champagne.

Mouton 008 

After we ordered our champagne, the bartender told us the bar was going to close in 20 minutes – at 12:30! Since it was still so early, we decided to venture even further into the Short North to Bar 23. Bar 23 was fun, but it’s basically the post-college version of Gateway bars.. think McFadden’s, Tuna, etc. just with 24-30 year olds, not 18-23 year olds.

We only got one picture last night.. but there is a funny story that goes along with it. Tiff and I were sitting outside on the patio, and this freaky girl was sitting on the inside, dancing like a weirdo, sticking her tongue out at us, etc. She came up to the window when we were getting our picture taken, and I tried to put my hand up to block her face, but at the last second she scooted down.. so there she is!

Mouton 009

It was such a fun night out! I’m really  going to miss the Short North when I move back to Florida. There’s just so much to do there and it’s such a fun neighborhood!

§ 2 Responses to Short North Night Out

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Short North Night Out at Caroline Daily.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

