Home sweet home

December 10, 2010 § 3 Comments

After a long day that started at 5 am, I arrived back in Florida around 10 this morning. My mom picked me up from the airport and had a hot coffee waiting for me. One of the many reasons why my mom rocks!

Most of the day was spent sleeping because I barely slept last night, but tonight my family went out to dinner to celebrate my Dad’s birthday.

Vinoy Dinner 009

Every year when I was little, my Dad would bring home a cake for us to celebrate. It wasn’t just any cake though, it was a chocolate cake from a restaurant called Bill Knapp’s. The restaurant is long gone, but a few weeks ago I was perusing the aisles of a grocery store in Columbus and I stumbled upon one of those cakes! I guess after the restaurant went defunct, a company bought the recipe and produces the cake for specialty stores. The cake somehow survived airport security and the flight home and my Dad was totally surprised. It was a total blast from the past, and he really loved it.

Dad 019

I think.

§ 3 Responses to Home sweet home

  • Moe says:

    Awwww!!! Glad you made it home. I loved Bill Knapps cakes as a kid too. I’m really glad they still make them. We actually had it for my birthday this past year too!! (Picture that one small cake….feeding like 20 members of my family at mardi gras dinner. It was sort of like the fish/loaves bible story….) ha.

  • Rob says:

    I like your use of the word defunct. It accurately describes the scenario. I am glad that your dad liked it.

  • How sweet of you to bring that cake to him! Yay for it making it through the flight.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Home sweet home at Caroline Daily.

meta

