Facebook: TMI?

January 9, 2011 § 1 Comment

As a college senior, I am a facebook veteran, logging on almost daily for the past four years. I vaguely remember the days before newsfeed, video messages, and chat. I remember when groups were open only to people in certain networks, and college students protesting highschooler’s ability to join the website.

Now I can creep on people I haven’t talked to in years. It’s seriously crazy what people will post on facebook for the world to see. I mean, people post everything from break ups, to engagements, pictures of baby bumps, or even doing drugs. Statuses range from the boring “I just ate a crispy apple!” to the ridiculous, “I is so done with my baby daddy and all of his bullshit! its over this time for realz!”

Facebook does have pros though. For instance I can keep in touch with the friends I made while studying abroad or see pictures from my little sister’s first high school dance. I even got a few free nail polishes from Zoya last week thanks to a facebook promo.

With graduation approaching faster than I’d like to admit, I’m faced with a job search and graduate school applications. Everyone and their mother has heard of employers scoping out facebook pages of potential employees, and it kind of scares me! What if something I deem as appropriate for a 22 year old college student to have posted is inappropriate in the eyes of a 40something hiring manager?

Beyond those aspects, Rob and I have been talking a lot about the fact that facebook has full access and control to all of the information that you post, including pictures, interests, any personal information, etc. Rob has been talking for a long time about deleting his facebook and today, he finally did.

But not really.

Because if you search his name, he still pops up! Ahhhhh!

Any thoughts on facebook? Too much info? A great connector?

I am a lover, albeit a second guessing lover now. 😉

§ One Response to Facebook: TMI?

  • Moe says:

    Whhhaaaaattt he deleted his Facebook??? Boo!

    I say just keep everything private and you’ll be good to go. I never had an issue. But then again I don’t talk about my “baby daddy” via Facebook. Ha.

    You’ll be fine!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Facebook: TMI? at Caroline Daily.

meta

