Revenge of the chemical cabinet

March 6, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m (finally) nearing the end of my organic chemistry sequence. In just two days, I have my last lab final (pending my passing that is..eeek!) Until then, I’m going to be consumed with the thought of my sick professor’s idea of an exam.

chemical cabinet

Basically, he gives us a list of dozens upon dozens of organic molecules, which are all part of a fictional “chemical cabinet” and we are supposed to pick which ones will make whichever molecules he  chooses. I had this same professor for my first lab course, and I just remember walking out of the final being astounded that he came up with such a creative way to make me feel like I know nothing about organic synthesis. Besides the chemical cabinet portion of the exam, there are some mechanisms to draw out, products to predict, and if there is a God, there will be some calculations.

Seriously though, how sick is the “more will be revealed” box at the end of the study guide?

§ One Response to Revenge of the chemical cabinet

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Revenge of the chemical cabinet at Caroline Daily.

meta

