Dine Originals 2011

March 11, 2011 § 2 Comments

So, the organic chemistry saga is finally over. I did really great on my final and I’m actually pretty happy with how it all turned out. Besides that, the biggest news in my life is that there is a mentally unstable bum camping on my porch…but that post will have to be written at another day. Today, I’m talking food!

So in Columbus, there are a few weeks a year where restaurants in town participate in restaurant week. I missed it this past fall, so when my friend Bethany (who is starting her own  blog soon!!!) asked me earlier this week if I wanted to go to Banana Bean for Dine Originals Week, I didn’t even have to think about it! The restaurant had a “Floribbean” theme so as soon as we walked in, it felt like we were in spring break in the keys…I loved it. We ordered some friend plantains that came with a hot chili sauce, but since we both went to the gym right before we ate, we were to hungry to think about taking a picture of them. For dinner, I ate a jerk chicken sandwich with mango-habenero salsa and grilled pineapples. It was amazing!

p vera 001

After, we decided to hit up another restaurant participating in Dine Originals, Pistacia Vera. It is a French dessert boutique here in Columbus and besides having the most amazing French pastries, they make a killer cup of coffee. For Dine Originals, they had a sampler of some of their most popular items, but Bethany and I are obviously gluttons so we spent $27 on dessert. Yes, it was just us two. No, we did not finish everything…but we came very close.

 p vera 002

 p vera 003

 p vera 004

p vera 005

We both agreed that the mousse filled chocolate bomb in the sampler was our favorite. There were also vanilla bean & black raspberry macarons, some nougat and a rich & fudgy bon bon. Basically, the sampler is the thing dreams (and cellulite) is made of!

And that my friends, is two more things crossed off the bucket list!

§ 2 Responses to Dine Originals 2011

  • Moe says:

    Those desserts look fabulous. I think I gained 5 pounds just looking at them.

    And I want to hear about this bum you speak of…..camping out on your porch? While I’m not shocked by this news…I’m definitely intrigued and concerned. Let me know if you need a burly bearded “man” to come to your rescue!

  • Tiffany C says:

    Doesn’t look like I missed out on anything too delicious. NOT!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dine Originals 2011 at Caroline Daily.

meta

