New favorite beers

April 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

So obviously, that last post was a lame April Fool’s joke! I just can’t help myself, I really do think I’m hilarious and dumb stuff like that entertains me. Good thing that was a joke though, because I have some awesome beers to tell you about! The other night, Tiffany and I hit up Bodega, a bar in the Short North (artsy/hipster area around downtown cbus) known for a huge beer list! They also have a sweet Monday night special – $1 grilled cheese – which we are going to try to go to this week. Anyway, we both decided we were in the mood to try new beers, things that were outside of our beer comfort zone if  you will.

I got a blend of Young’s Chocolate Stout and a raspberry framboise, aptly named a chocolate covered raspberry. I don’t know why, but I felt really stupid ordering it. I’m glad I got over that feeling, because it was an awesome drink! It tasted like an alcoholic mix of raspberries, chocolate and COFFEE. (And beer, obviously). I would definitely order it again, dumb name be damned!

Does anyone else not like to order things if they have dumb names? If I’m at a restaurant and something has a cheesy name, even if it sounds good, I won’t order it. I just hate that kind of stuff!!

Tiffany got a beer that tasted like cherry cough syrup, which she loved, but I did not. I hate cherry flavored things, so I didn’t exactly expect to like it, but I figured it was worth trying anyway. It was an organic cherry ale – but I can’t remember the name.

 fav beer 2 fav beer 1

Neither of us drink very much anymore and I’d just like to acknowledge the fact that we both had head buzzes off of our drinks. Whether that is awesome or lame, I haven’t decided. After Bodega, we headed back to campus and met up with the rest of our girlfriends who were getting wild on the dance floor. I feel like I never went out during winter quarter – I like to think I was in hibernation – and since college is almost over, I really want to make the best of these last few months!

§ One Response to New favorite beers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New favorite beers at Caroline Daily.

meta

