Market 65

April 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

So Caro Daily was chosen as a blog name when I had a lot of  free time on my hands, because now that I’m super busy, the “daily” part is really slipping away  from me! Anyway, I have been up to a lot lately, but most of it is school related. I had 3 exams on Wednesday, and they were pretty intense but I’m glad to report A’s on all of them! No senioritis…Not yet anyway!

The weather has been wonderful this week and city is coming alive with it! Today, Bethany and I took the COTA bus (!) downtown to try a new place near the state building – Market 65. Bethany told me about it a few weeks ago and I had to add it to the bucket list. The main draw for us was actually the bake case.. not the delicious salads. On Fridays, Market 65 features Yum Yum Cupcakes and Bethany had been dying to try them. Apparently they don’t have a storefront, they are just sold at a few shops around the city.

For lunch, I got a delicious Tuscan Orzo Salad. It was one of the freshest and tastiest salads I’ve had in a long time. To me, the deciding factor on a good salad is the dressing; I hate salads swimming in dressing. This was very lightly dressed in a delicious pesto, no pool of dressing in the bottom. Another plus, everything was chopped together so there were no huge chunks! I’m kind of weird about my food, I like everything to be about the same size so I can have a taste of everything in each bite. This was perfect!

 market 65-2 

After that huge pile of greens, it was time for something sweet! I chose one of the mini lemon-raspberry cupcakes which was divine. At first look, it appears to be just your average cupcake, nothing too exciting, but once I split it open, it was a whole new beast.

 Market 65-1

Oh yes, that’s REAL raspberry in the filling. Soooo good!

Market 65-4

Bethany had a bacon maple cupcake which was unlike anything I’ve ever tasted before. She said it was like eating breakfast and she gave me a bite. Breakfast indeed! It had moist, sweet maple flavored cake with a rich & creamy frosting topped off with a crunchy, salty piece of bacon. It was almost unreal.

Market 65-3

Market 65 – well done. I’ll be back for sure!

§ One Response to Market 65

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Market 65 at Caroline Daily.

meta

