City Girls

May 6, 2011 § 1 Comment

Thursday afternoon is quickly becoming one of my favorite part of the week. Bethany and I just happen to both have the afternoon free so we have been using it to ride bikes & try new places. This week, we hopped on the beach cruisers and headed to Cafe Brioso. It’s an awesome coffee shop downtown (right across from Sugar Daddy’s) that roasts it’s own beans fresh daily. I’d heard good things, and since I love coffee, I knew I had to give it a try.

We weren’t the only ones who wanted to enjoy the sunny afternoon on bikes.. check out the patio scene when we arrived.

city girl 1 city girl 11

So many bikes!

Anyway, we walk in and the smell is just AMAZING. I mean, freshly roasted coffee beans, what could be better? The interior is awesome, there are burlap sacks of beans all over the place. It’s really relaxed and there are plenty of places to lounge around.

 city girl 2city girl 7

I got an iced coffee which I put a splash of cream in. I can tell you right now, Cafe Brioso has the best iced coffee I’ve ever had. It was perfectly smooth, no trace of bitterness at all. Bethany got a sandwich and a Chai latte. I had a sip of her latte and it was super fragrant & very rich. Honestly, there were quite a few drinks on the menu I wanted to try, so I can’t wait to come back again soon to sample more!

city girl 4 city girl 6  

After finishing up our drinks inside, we saw some people getting up from a table out on the patio, so we headed out there to enjoy the sunshine. It was glorious. I truly love Columbus. I think it gets a bad rap – we are a real city! I mean look at these buildings! We read some local Columbus magazines and talked about how excited we are to do more city things now that the weather is getting warmer. Hibernation is almost over people!!

city girl 9

Since it was so nice out and we knew we were going to pass by Jeni’s on the ride home, we decided to stop for a cold, sweet treat!

city girl 10city girl 14city girl 13  

Jeni’s Brambleberry Crisp ice cream is one of my favorite treats. The vanilla bean base is just perfect, the berries ripe & juicy, and the granola crisp is the thing that ties it all together. I could eat a whole pint of this stuff. Love it.

Once we got back to campus, we saw a farmer’s market going on. We didn’t exactly have anywhere to be, so we decided to make a quick pit stop. It wasn’t huge, but for being right on campus, it was great. There were tons of fresh veggies, a butcher with local, organic meats & eggs, as well as breads and some sweets. I can’t wait until the season is really in full swing and the market is full of options.

city girl 12city girl 15

After that, we called it quits for the afternoon. We headed home to get ready to go out and celebrate Cinco de Mayo. The pictures from our Cinco celebration are just priceless, I can’t wait to share them with you tomorrow! As a teaser, I’ll just tell you that besides sombreros & maracas, crutches are involved.

§ One Response to City Girls

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading City Girls at Caroline Daily.

meta

