Impero Coffee Roasters

May 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

impero 9

Today’s adventure was to Impero Coffee in the Short North. It has been super gloomy all day, and I decided I needed an afternoon pick me up. Impero has been on my bucket list only a short while, but I knew that today was going to be the day to try it out. A creamy espresso drink and desert was on my mind as I hopped on the COTA bus with Bethany. When we arrived at Impero, I was pleasantly surprised. It was small and only one person was working, but this isn’t Starbucks. This is more of a sit and do some work, come enjoy an afternoon over a good book or chat with a friend kind of place. The menu was expansive, offering all types of coffee, espresso and tea based beverages.
 impero 2
I know the picture is fuzzy, but on the espresso menu, there are color coded cups to tell you how much milk, foam, and espresso is in each drink. I thought it was genius! Even though I’m an avid coffee drinker, it was nice to actually see the difference between a breve, a latte, and a macchiato.
impero 3 impero 4
I ordered a con panna, which from the menu above is a shot of espresso topped with whipped cream. I’d never had one before, but I can say with confidence that I will be drinking more of these in the future! The bitter espresso mingled perfectly with the ultra rich whipped cream to form a perfect, balanced sip. I also got a piece of baklava because I like to enjoy a sweet treat with an afternoon coffee. It was meh, I mean nothing can compare to a homemade piece of baklava straight from Nana’s oven!
impero 5 impero 6
I have to say, I really enjoyed that my drink was served in a mug. Since I usually grab a latte on my way to class, I drink out of a paper to go cup. There’s just something so much nicer about drinking from a real mug.  (I made us pose for these cheesy shots of us sipping our drinks…the things I do for this blog)
impero 10
Impero Coffee is really cozy place, and I can’t wait to go back. It was the perfect way to spend a gray, rainy afternoon.

§ 2 Responses to Impero Coffee Roasters

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Impero Coffee Roasters at Caroline Daily.

meta

