Columbus Commons Bootcamp

June 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

Or, alternatively titled: the time I got tricked into doing crossfit.

bootcamp 004 

If you’re not familiar with crossfit, you can read about it here. I saw a few youtube videos of the crossfit games once, and wanted to puke just watching the workouts they do.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to break a sweat! There’s nothing like going for a great 3-4 mile run or having a great weights session or even a pilates class.

Anyway, this class was FREE at the new Columbus Commons, a park just south of the state building downtown. I was excited and expected it to be like other boot camp classes I’d tried in the past, but it wasn’t. It was a “bootcamp” run by a crossfit gym located downtown. I think it’s awesome that the city and that gym are working together to provide free fitness classes to the people of Columbus. Definitely a step in the right direction for public health initiatives.

A lot of people came down, and most people seemed to really enjoy the workout. However, I hated it. There wasn’t much direction, and it was just a hardcore athlete’s style of workout. I prefer someone telling me exactly how many reps we have left of each move, or at least knowing the layout of what’s to come in the class. This was a guided warm-up, then the instructor said “Okay now repeat XYZ for 20 minutes.” I almost would have preferred being yelled at.

I have to be totally honest… a big reason why I didn’t enjoy this workout is because it was outside on freshly cut grass. We were doing squats, pushups, and burpees, so I was covered in grass, dirt and bugs. Oh, and it was drizzling rain.

bootcamp 003

So I’m really glad that I went and tried something new, but I just don’t think I’ll be back anytime soon. I need air conditioning, my ipod, or at the very least, a sweat towel!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Columbus Commons Bootcamp at Caroline Daily.

meta

